Charles Bernstein, MD
Disclosures: Consulting Fee-Abbvie Canada |Consulting Fee-Janssen Canada|Consulting Fee-Mylan Pharmaceuticals |Consulting Fee-Pfizer, Inc.|Consulting Fee-Takeda Pharmaceuticals, Inc.|Speakers Bureau-Medtronic, Inc.|Speakers Bureau-Janssen Canada|Contracted Research-Abbvie Canada|Speakers Bureau-Janssen |Contracted Research-Celgene|Contracted Research-Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica GmbH|Contracted Research-Pfizer, Inc.|Contracted Research-Roche|Educational grant-Abbvie Canada |Educational grant-Janssen Canada |Educational grant-Shire Canada |Educational grant -Takeda Canada |Educational grant -Pfizer, Inc.

Dr. Charles N. Bernstein, MD biography

Dr. Charles Bernstein, a graduate from the University of Manitoba Faculty of Medicine, and the UCLA Division of Gastroenterology Fellowship Training Program is Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Bingham Chair in Gastroenterology Research; and Director, Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD) Clinical and Research Centre at the University of Manitoba. His main research interests are primarily related to IBD; in terms of optimizing management approaches; exploring predictors of clinical outcomes; and disease etiology including related to the gut microbiome. More recently he has been actively involved in exploring the biological and clinical intersection between different chronic immune mediated inflammatory diseases. He has published over 480 peer reviewed articles, 29 book chapters, and is a co-editor of one of the seminal gastrointestinal clinical-pathology textbooks. His H-Index is 83 and has had 28897 citations. In 2008 Dr. Bernstein was elected into the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. In 2009, he was named the inaugural Bingham Chair in Gastroenterology at the University of Manitoba. In 2012, he was awarded the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology Research Excellence Award.  Further, in 2012 he was elected into the Royal Society of Canada -Life Sciences Division of the Academy of Science. In 2014 he was named Distinguished Professor, one of only 20 at the University of Manitoba. It is the highest honor the University can bestow upon a professor. In 2016 he was named as the recipient of the Dr. John M. Bowman Memorial Winnipeg Rh Institute Foundation Award, recognizing outstanding research accomplishments by a senior University of Manitoba faculty.